" INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
SELF-REPRESENTED LITIGANT CHILD SUPPORT
DECREASE PACKET

PLAINTIFF

The Plaintiff is the person who is trying to decrease the child support. The Plaintiff is the person
who wants things to change and who has filed this case. The Defendant is the person who is
being sued. The instructions in this packet are for the Plaintiff.

WARNING: You are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney before filing
any legal matter. This packet is designed to provide information and forms to people who are
representing themselves in court. If you proceed without an attorney, it may negatively affect
your legal rights. If you are unsure whether to proceed, or have questions about these forms or
your legal rights, consult an attorney. Please note that clerks of court, court staff, and judges
cannot give you legal advice.

DISCLAIMER: The information in this packet is not legal advice and cannot replace the
advice of competent legal counsel licensed in your state. Child support laws vary from state to
state and the information contained in this packet is specific to South Carolina. Please note that

the information contained in this packet is subject fo change and make sure that you have the
most current version of this packet before filing.

The following instructions will help you file for a child support reduction in South Carolina pro
se, or without an attorney. Pro se is a Latin term meaning “in person” or “on one’s own behalf.”
As the courts see more people representing themselves in court, you may also hear the term self-
represented litigant instead of pro se. While the self-represented litigant may not incur the

attorney expense, the self-represented litigant does not have the expert guidance that an attorney

can provide.

You may want to consult an attorney if you have a large arrearage or a bench
warrant.

If you do not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South Carolina Bar’s
Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law attorney in your county.
Members of the South Carolina Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service have been in practice for more
than 3 years, are in good standing, have provided proof of malpractice insurance, and have

agreed to provide a 30 minute consultation for no more fhan $50. If you believe you qualify for

SCCA 400.2P SRL-CSM (8/2012) 1of 14

itk T Tem B dlin mnalead 1 wanteintad +A nadk fas meafif vimnacan



South Carolina Legal Services, you may contact their Legal Aid Telephone Intake Service at 1-
888-346-5592. Please note that to qualify for SCLS, your income must not be more than 125%
of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.

BEFORE YOU FILE

Is your order from South Carolina?

Once South Carolina issues a child support order, South Carolina is the only.state that can

change the order as long as you, the custodial party, or the child still lives in South Carolina.

Is your order from another state?

If another state issued the order and you, the custodial party, or the child still lives in that state,
the paperwork for a reduction must be filed in that other state. You may want to contact the
administrative offices of the court in that state to determine if they have similar paperwork you

can file. Information about other states may be available on http://www.lawhelp.org.

Have you checked the child support guidelines?

Child support is calculated by using the South Carolina Child Support Guidelines. Go to the
South Carolina Department of Social Services website and complete the child support calculator.
‘The DSS website is http.//www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/calculator.htm.

~ Minimum wage for a full-time job is the lowest wage that is generally used to set the

child support obligation. If your child support order was based on minimum
wage, it is unlikely that the Family Court Judge will reduce your child support

unless there is some other substantial change of circumstances.

/. The results of the child support calculator do not gnarantee that a Family Court
? Judge will lower your child support obligation.

If you get a higher support obligation when using the calculator, you may decide not to file a
reduction in your support obligation. If you file an action for a reduction, the custodial party can

file a counterclaim and ask for an increase.

The judge may increase your support obligation if the results of the child support
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calculator show that there should be an increase instead of a2 decrease.
{

To get a reduction you must show a substantial change of circumstances. Some common

examples are:
s you lost your job through no fault of your own

¢ you make substantially less than you did when you were placed under the child support
order

@ one or more of the children from the original order now live with you

o amedical condition or disability that prevents or limits your ability to work
o one or more of the children may be emancipated. Normally, children are considered
emancipated when they have married, joined the military, or are eighteen years old and

are out of high school. See hitp://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t63c003.php.

Many Family Court Judges will not consider having additional children with

another partner to be a substantial change of circumstances for a reduction.

If you have lost your job, you will need to show the judge you are looking for a job to request a
support reduction. You will need evidence such as copies of job applications, information from

One Stop, rejection letters, or any other proof that you may have.

If you have become disabled, you will need to show the judge that you have applied for or
recetve some type of disability benefits (SSA, SSI, VA, etc.). You may need medical evidence

such as a statement from your doctor that shows that you are disabled and cannot work.

The South Carolina Department of Social Services Child Support Enforcement Division
considers a change of circumstances substantial when the new child support amount is 20% less
than the old amount. This may be hard to know before you begin your action as the custodial
party’s income is also considered in the child support calculation. Judges do not have to follow

this 20% standard, but many use it as a reasonable guide.
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Is your case handled by the South Carolina Department of Social Services, Child Support
Enforcement Division?

If your child support order is handled by DSS, you may request a review with that office instead
of filing these papers with the court. You must send a written request to DSS by certified mail.
You will need to include information showing how your circumstances have changed and
financial information supporting the reduction. You need to keep a copy of your written request

and the proof that you sent it by certified mail.

If DSS does not object to the reduction, they will file the action for reduction and schedule a
hearing. If DSS does object to the reduction, DSS must advise you that you may file an action
in Family Court to have the support amount reviewed.

-

Child support cases that are not handled by DSS are called “private cases.” You may use this

packet to file a court action for modification of these cases.

PART 1: COMPLETING YOUR PAPERWORK

The next step is to study all of the forms listed below. The name of each form can be found in
the upper right hand corner and the form number in the bottom left hand corner.
The following forms are included in this packet:

Section 1 - FILING

1. Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467)
Summons (SCCA 401F)
Complaint — Decrease Child Support (SCCA 400.21 SRL-CSM)
Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (SCCA 405F)
Financial Declaration (SCCA 430)
Case Party Information Sheet (SCCA 453)

Al

Section 2 — SERVICE
7. Service of Process Forms
a. Acceptance of Service (SCCA 400.22 SRL-CSM)
b. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (SCCA 400.23 SRL-CSM)
c. Affidavit of Service (SCCA 402F)

Section 3 — REQUEST FOR HEARING
8. Request for Hearing (Child Support Modification) (SCCA 400.26 SRL-CSM)
9. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA 400.27 SRL-CSM)
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Section 4 ~ HEARING '
10. Order — Decrease Child Support (SCCA 400.29 SRL-CSM)
11. Support Information Sheet (SCCA 446)

12. Script for Plaintiff's Testimony (Decrease Child Support) (SCCA 400.28 SRL-CSM)
Some of the information on each form will be the same, such as your name and address, but each
form has a different purpose and requires different information. It is important that you make
copies of all paperwork. Keep the paperwork in a safe place and bring it to court with you. If
any necessary information is missing, you risk your case being dismissed or delayed. If your

case is dismissed, you will have to begin again by filing your information with the Clerk of Court
a second time and paying the filing fee ($150).

SECTION 1 - FILING
You will start with the first six forms:

(1) Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467),
(2) Summons (SCCA 4011);

(3) Complaint (Decrease Child Support) (SCCA 400.21 SRL-CSM)

(4) Motion and Affidavit to Proceed in Forma Pauperis (SCCA 405F);

(5) Financial Declaration Form (SCCA 430); and

(6) Case Party Information Sheet (SCCA 453).
On the first five forms, fill in the name of the county where you are filing this case. The county is
the county where you are ordered to pay child support. You also need to fill in the number of the
judicial circuit. It is on your child support order. If you don’t have it, be sure to get this number
from the Clerk of Court and {ill it in when you file. Then print your name in the space labeled
“Plaintiff.” You are the Plaintiff as you are the person asking for the reduction. Next, print the
custodial party’s name where it is labeled “Defendant.” The other person, the one being sued, is
the Defendant. This section of all legal forms is called the caption. This caption should be
completed on all forms filed with the court.

- On the Family Court Coversheet (SCCA 467), print your contact information in the appropriate

spaces below the caption, which includes your name, address, and a reliable telephone number.
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If you file in one of the counties listed at the top of Page 2 of the Fé.mily Court Coversheet,

check the box next to “This case is subject to Mandatory Mediation pursuant to the Family Court
Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules.”

If you do not file in one of the counties listed on Page 2 of the Family Court Coversheet, leave
both boxes in the DOCKETING INFORMATION section blank.

Then, check the box next to “Modification of Child Support - Private” if this is a private case.
Check the box next to “Modification of Child Support - DSS” if this is a case with DSS. This

indicates the type of action you are filing. Sign and date the Coversheet at the bottom of the
page, and set this page aside.

The Summons and Complaint will become the official court record that will establish your case

once you file them. It is important to complete each form accurately and truthfully. Complete

these forms to the best of your ability.

On the Summons, you will need to fill in the name of the city where you live, then date and sign.

You also need to print your name and your address.

Complaint

The Complaint (Decrease Child Support} (400.21 SRL-DIV) asks questions about where you
live and where the custodial party (Defendant) lives. In number 3, list the names and dates of
birth of the children who are included in the order. In number 4, list the amount of your current
court order for support. If you are paying extra to pay off an arrearage, do not include this extra

amount. Number 5 there is space to state what has changed since the last child support order.

You must show a substantial change of circumstances before the judge can give

you a reduction. You must put it on the form to be able to tell the judge about it

at your hearing.

At the bottom of the Complaint, fill in the name of the city where you live. Date and sign the
Complaint,

*#* Attach a copy of your support order to the Complaint. If you do not have a copy of the
support order, ask the Clerk of Court for a copy. There may be a small fee for the copies.***
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Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis

The filing fee is $150. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you may file the “Motion and
Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis” with your signed and notarized Financial Declaration.
By filling out and signing this form and having it notarized, you are swearing under oath that you
do not have the funds available to pay the filing fee (§150). Do not sign this form until you are

in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature on the form.

Do not fill in anything in the bottom section named ORDER. The judge will review your
motion and complete the order section. If the motion is denied, you must pay the filing fee
($150) and other fees by the date set by the court. If the fee is not paid on or before that date,

your case will be dismissed, and you will have to begin the process again by re-filing your

information.

Financial Declaration

The Financial Declaration (SCCA 430) asks questions about the finances of both the mother and
the father. Only fill out the sections of the form that apply to you. Attach a copy of your most
recent pay stub or benefits statement. Fill in your gross monthly income. This is the amount of
money you earn before taxes, social security, or any deductions are taken out. When figuring
your monthly income and expenses, multiply any weekly amounts by 4.33 to get the monthly
amount. You must take the Financial Declaration to a notary public before you sign it. Do not

sign this form until you are in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature on the

Financial Declaration.

Case Party Information Sheet

The Case Party Information Sheet (SCCA 453) will be used by the Sheriff’s Office to serve the
papers. This information is about the custodial party (Defendant), the person who needs to be

served with the papers. It is not information about you.

Completing the Filing Process

The next step, which officially begins the process, is to file the papers with the appropriate Clerk
of Court, Family Court Division, and to pay the filing fee ($150), if applicable. You will file
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this in the county where you pay your chiid support. Physical locations of all South Carolina
Family Courts can be found in the telephone book or online at http://www.sccourts.org.

Make two copies of the entire packet. Take the copies and the originé}s to the Clerk of Court in
the county where you pay support. If you are paying the fee, the Clerk of Court will: (1) assign
your case a docket number; (2) record the docket number on the upper right hand comer of all of
the forms; (3) keep the originals; and (4) return two copies of the forms to you. The clerk will
keep the original and return two clocked copies to you. One copy is for you to keep. The other

copy is to serve on the Defendant.

It is important that you print the docket number that has been issued for your case on all future

forms you file with the court. Only bring cash, a cashier’s check, or money order for the filing
fee ($150). Do not bring a personal check.

If you are filing the Motion and Affidavit to Proceed In Forma Pauperis, ybu do not have to pay
to file but may have to pay the fee after the Judge reviews your information and signs the order.
You should take a large brown envelope with enough postage to mail everything back to you.
The envelope should be addressed to you. You will receive the envelope in the mail in about
two weeks. Look at the Motion and Affidavit to Proceed in Forma Pauperis. If the box at the
bottom marked “granted” is checked, your documents should have a date stamp and a docket

number on them. Now you can serve the papers on the Defendant.

If the motion is denied, you must pay the filing fee ($150) and other fees by the date set by the court.
If the fee is not paid on or before that date, your case will be dismissed, and you will have to begin

the process again by re-filing your information.

SECTION 2: SERVICE OF PROCESS

After you receive copies of the documents from the Clerk of Court, you will need to serve one
copy of the Family Court Coversheet, Summons, Complaint (Decrease Child Support), and the
Pinancial Declaration on the custodial party or the custodial party’s attorney. If this is a case
handled by DSS, you must serve the papers on DSS Child Support Enforcement Division

(http://www.state.sc.us/dss/csed/region. htm). This is called Service of Process and can be done in

one of four ways:
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1) ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE

If the custodial party or DSS Child Support Enforcement Division is willing to accept
service, have the custodial party or DSS comf)lete the Acceptance of Service (SCCA
400.22 SRL-CSM). Handing the papers to the Defendant yourself is not good service of
process unless the Defendant is willing and completes the acceptance form. Take the
completed form to the Clerk of Court’s office for filing. Ask the Clerk of Court to make
a copy of the form for you at the time of filing.

) U.S. MAIL

You must send these documents Certified Mail, Restricted Delivery, Return Receipt
Requested. When you get the return receipt card (green card) back from the U.S. Post
Office, check it to make sure the custodial party signed the card. If someone other than

the custodial party signed the return receipt card (green card), you do not have

good service and must try again.

If you receive the return receipt card (green card) and it was signed by the custodial party
or DSS, record the docket number you received from the Clerk of Court and the words
“Summons and Complaint” across the top of the return receipt (green card) and then
make a copy of the card for your file. Next, complete and sign the Affidavit of Service
by Mailing form (SCCA 400.23 SRL-CSM) before a notary. 1bo not sign this form until
you are in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature on the
Affidavit of Service by Mailing. Attach the return receipt card (green card) to the

notarized Affidavit of Service by Mailing and take it to the Clerk of Court’s office for
filing.

If you do not get the return receipt card (green card) back, you may try to re-send all the
documents again by Certified Mail, Restricted Delivery, Returm Receipt Requested. If
you do not believe this would be successful, you may have to call your local Sheriff’s

office to serve the papers on the custodial party or DSS. There may be a fee for this
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service by the Sheriff’s office. If your Motion to Proceed In Forma Pauperis was
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3) SHERIFF’S OFFICE

Contact the Sheriff’s office in the county where the Defendant lives or works to serve the
papers. When the Sheriff serves the papers, ask the office to complete the bottom half of
the Affidavit of Service (SCCA. 402F) form before a notary, have the form notarized, and
return the form to you. The Sheriff’s Office may have its own Affidavit of Service Form

and their form may be used. File the notarized Affidavit of Service with the Clerk of
Court.

4) PRIVATE PROCESS SERVER

Private process servers are listed in the telephone book. There will be a fee for this
service. It is usually more expensive than the Sheriff’s Office. When they have served
the papers, they will give you the completed Affidavit of Service you gave them or their
own form. File the notarized Affidavit of Service with the Clerk of Court.
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5) SERVICE BY COMMERCIAL DELIVERY SERVICE

You may use a commercial delivery company like UPS or FedEx to serve the summons
and complaint. The company must be one approved by the Internal Revenue Service.
You may check to be sure the company is approved at the IRS website:

http://www.irs.gov/uac/Private-Delivery-Services-(PDS).

The delivery company will give you a delivery record showing the date, time and place of
delivery, the name of the person served and an original signature or electronic image of
the signature of the person served. If someone other than the defendant signs for the
documents, you will not be able to proceed if the defendant does not appear. If delivery

is refused or returned undelivered, you must try another method.

You must provide an affidavit showing the documents served with the delivery record

attached. This affidavit and delivery record must be filed with the clerk of court.

If the Defendant is not served properly, you will not be able to proceed and cannot

get a hearing scheduled.

SECTION 3 ~ REQUEST FOR HEARING

Complete the Request for Hearing for Child Support Modification (SCCA 400.26 SRL-CSM).
Print your name in the space marked “Plaintiff. ” Print your address, telephone number, and
email address where requested. Complete the information for the Defendant or Attorney for
Defendant, Print any comments or issues that you would like to bring to the Court’s attention

and sign your name at the bottom of the form where it says “Plaintiff.”

Take the original and a copy of the Request for Hearing to file with the Clerk of Court. The

Clerk will date stamp your copy and give it back to you for your records.

The Clerk of Court will inform you of your hearing date by mailing you a Notice of Hearing.
The hearing date may be several months away. After you receive the Notice of Hearing from the

Court, you must send a copy of the notice of hearing to the custodial party or custodial party’s
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attorney. They must receive the notice of hearing at least 10 days before the hearing. The

Notice of Hearing needs to be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested.

You will then need to complete the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing) (SCCA.
400.27 SRL-CSM) before a notary. This form indicates when you mailed the Notice of Hearing.
Do not sign this form until you are in front of a notary. The notary must witness your signature

on the Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Notice of Hearing).

If the envelope used to mail the Notice of Hearing to the custodial party or custodial party’s
attorney is returned from the U.S. Post Office, take the returned envelope to the hearing. It is
only necessary to show that the Notice of Hearing was mailed. You do not have to show that the
custodial party or custodial party’s attorney actually received the notice.

SECTION 4 - HEARING

To prepare for the hearing, complete the Order (Decrease Child Support) (SCCA 400.29 SRL-

CSM). On the Order, print the date assigned for your hearing and the names and dates of birth of
the children.

On the day of your hearing, you should arrive at the courthouse at least thirty (30) minutes prior
to your scheduled time. Make sure to take copies of your documents with you to court. Dress
appropriately and turn off your cell phone. Appropriate dress includes suits, jackets, dresses,
dress slacks, and neatly tucked shirts. Casual clothing such as sweat clothes, tank tops, shorts,
and similar summer beachwear is not appropriate for the courtroom. Remove hats when entering
the courtroom, unless they are required for a medical condition. Most courts do not allow
children into the courtroom so make arrangements for a responsible adult to-watch your children

while you are in court.

When it is time for your hearing, the Bailiff or Deputy will call your name. At that time, enter the
courtroomn, sit, and wait for the judge to ask you if you are ready. When the judge asks if you are
ready, please stand if you are able to and say: “Your honor, may I begin.” The judge will tell

you to proceed or wait. Before you begin, you will be sworn in. If the Judge indicates you
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should come forward, take your paperwork with you and sit in the witness chair. If the Judge

allows you to stay at the table in front of the Judge, you should stand if you are able.

1» Youare required to present your case for child support decrease.

This packet has a Script for Plaintiff’s Testimony (SCCA 400.28 SRL-CSM) that you should use
at the hearing. Review and complete the script before your hearing. At the hearing, you will
read the script as your testimony. Make sure you tell the judge everything that shows that you
have had a substantial change of circumstances and why you should be given a reduction. Your
testimony should be specific to the child(ren) under the support order. If you have any papers
that you want the Judge to see, hand the original and a copy to the Deputy Sheriff who will give
the original to the Judge and a copy to the Defendant. Be sure to keep another copy for yourself

in case the Judge or the Defendant asks you questions about it.

The judge may interrupt you from time to time to ask a question. Listen carefully and answer the
questions the judge asks yon. When you are finished testifying, the judge will indicate that you
may leave the witness stand or sit down at the table. The custodial party will have a chance to
testify as well. At the end of the hearing, the judge will tell you the decision. You may ask the
Deputy to hand the judge the order to finish completing.

The judge will sign the Order (Decrease Child Support). Make sure the Order (Decrease Child
Support) is filed with the Clerk of Court. You will also give the Clerk of Court the Support
Information Sheet (SCCA 446). If support is modified, you will check the second box. Then
you will fill in the amount of the support order and the collections costs which are 5%. The next
section is for how often you are to make payments. Check only one box in the Payment
Frequency section. Then fill in the Total Arrearage. If you do not have this information, ask the
Clerk for the amount. If the Judge orders wage withholding, check the second box in the wage
withholding section.

You should sign and date the bottom of page one. You should complete as much of page 2 as

you can prior to the hearing. If you are given new or different information such as a change of
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address during the hearing, correct page 2 before giving it to the Clerk. You should sign and
date page 2. You may put Plaintiff in the space for Title or leave it blank. The Clerk of Court
will provide you and the custodial party or the custodial party’s attorney with a copy of the Order
(Decrease Child Support).

The reduction is not final until the Order has been signed by the judge and filed
with the Clerk of Court.
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Plaintiff Child Support Reduction Checklist

- Complete the forms in Section 1 of this packet -- Family Court Coversheet, Summons, Complaint,
Motion and Affidavit to Proceed fn Forma Pauperis (if using), Financial Declaration Form, and Case
Party Information Sheet.

- File the forms with the Clerk of Court in the appropriate county and pay the $150 filing fee unless the In
Forma Pauperis has been granted.

- Serve copies of the five forms on the custodial party in one of four ways: (1) Acceptance of Service; (2)
U. 8. Mail; (3) Sheriff’s office; or (4) Private process server.

- Complete the Request for Hearing and file it with the Proof of Service with the Clerk of Court.

- Once you receive the Notice of Hearing from the Clerk of Court, mail a copy of this Notice to the
custodial party or the custodial party’s attorney (at least ten days before the hearing date). File the
Affidavit of Mailing with the Clerk of Court.

- To prepare for your hearing, complete the Order (Decrease Child Support).

- On the day of your hearing, you should arrive at least 30 minutes early and be sure to dress appropriately,
turn off your cell phone, and remove your hat. Do not bring your children.

-~ At the hearing you will testify using the Script for Plaintiff’s Testimony.

- The judge will allow the custodial party to present his/her case, and you will have an opportunity to ask
guestions.

- Atthe end of the hearing the judge should sign the Order (Decrease Child Suppot).

- Be sure that the signed Order (Decrease Child Support) is filed with the Clerk of Court’s office and you
receive a clocked copy for your files.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF ) B
)
)
Plaintiff, ) FAMILY COURT COVERSHEET

V8. )

)

)

Defendant. ) Docket No.

NOTE: The coversheet and information contained herein neither replaces nor supplements the filing and service of pleadings or
other papers as required by law. This form is required for docketing purposes for the Clerk of Court and must be signed and dated,
and filled out completely. A copy of this coversheet must be served on the defendant(s) along with the Summons and Cempiaint.

Submitted by: S8C Bar #
Address: Telephone #

Fax #
Email: Other:
DOCKETING INFORMATION

[this case is subject to MEDIATTON pursuant to the Family Court Alternative Dispute Resolution Rules.
[IThis case is exempt from ADR (certificate attached).

Nature of Action Codes
(Check One)
Marital Dissolution Support
[ Divorce (110} [J Child Support ~ Private (501)
[} Ammulment (120) [} Child Support — Admiristrative Process (502)

[ Separate Support and Maintenance (130) [} Child Support — Judicial Process (503)
[ Registration of Foreign Diverce Deeree — without support/custedy (150) ] Registration of Foreign Order of Support (504)
[ Registration of Foreign Divorce Decrae — with support/enstody (191) [ UTFSA — Outgoing (3505}
[[] Marital Dissolution — Other (199) ] UIFS A — Incoming (506)
[} Modification of Child Support — Private {507)
Abuge and Negleet {7 Modification of Child Support - DSS (508)
] Abuse and Negleot — Child (210) [ Modification of Alimony (525)
["1 Abuse and Neglect — Adult (220) [1 College Expenses (530)
{1 Abuse and Neglect — Other (299) [3 Support — Othes (399)

Juvenile Pelinquency Custody/Visitation
[.] Treaney (311) [ Child Custody/Visitation (610)
[} Incorrigible (312) [} Modification of Custody/Visitation (615)

[ Runaway (313}

[[] Criminal Cffense — Drug (315)

[ Criminel Offense — Against a Person (316}
3 Crimina} Offense — Property (317)

1 Criminal Offenss ~ Public Order (318)

{7 Criminal Offense — Other (320)

{"] Temporary Custedy — Nomparent (616)

] Registeation of Foreign Child Custody Order (690}

[ Visitation Involvement Parenting (VIP) (DSS only) (691)
[} Custody/Visitation: —- Other (699)

Misceltaneous Actions
[Z] Juvenile Delinquency — Other (392) "] Name Change (710)
[} Correction/Birth Record (720)
Protection from Domestic Abuse 1 Judicial Bypass (730)
] Domestic Abuse— Intimate Partaer (410) [ Adoption (740}
[} Domestic Abuse—Minar (420) [ Foreign Adoption (741)

[ ] Registration of Foreign Order of Protection {450)
[ Domestic Abuse— Other (499)

Submitting Party Signature:

[T Post Dissolution Bquitable Distributior (750)
] Patemnity — Private (761)

] Paternity — DS8S (762}

[] Termination of Parental Rights — Private (771}
[} Termination of Parental Rights — DSS (772)
F] Miscellaneons Actions ~ Others (799)

Date:

Custodial Parent (if applicable):

Note: Frivolous civil proceedings are subject to sanctions pursuant to Rule 11, SCRCP, and the South Carolina Frivolous Civil Proceedings
Sanctions Act, 8.C. Code Ann. §§ 15-36-10 et seq.

SCCA 467 (4/2021)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
‘ ) ____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
) SUMMONS
Plaintiff, )
VS. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

TO THE DEFENDANT ABOVE-NAMED:

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED and notified that an action has been filed against
you in this court. Thirty (30) days after the day you receive this Summons and Complaint, you
must respond in writing to this Complaint by filing an Answer with this court. You must also
serve a copy of your Answer to this Complaint upon the Plaintiff or the Plaintiff’s Attorney at
the address shown below. If you fail to answer the Complaint, judgment by default could be

rendered against you for the relief requested in the Complaint.

Date: ' 20

Plaintift/Attorney for Plaintiff Signature
, S.C.

Print Name:
Address:

SCCA 401F (12/2009)



IN THE FAMILY COURT

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA y
) ___JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) COMPLAINT
Plaintiff, ) (Decrease Child Support)
VS, )
)
Defendant. )  Docket No.
Plamiiff would respectfully show that:
1. Plaintiff ves at in County,
2. Defendant lives at in County, .

The Plaintiff is ordered to pay child support to the Defendant for the following child(ren):

Child's Full Name Date of Birth Child's Full Name Date of Birth
1 4,
2.
3 6.
4. Plaintiff has a current child support obligation of § per

Plaintiff has a substantial change of circumstances. The current ongoing child support obligation is not
reasonable because

The Plaintiff requests an order (check all that apply):
[l Decreasing the amount Plaintiff pays for periodic child support for the above-named child({ren).

[] Requiring [ ] Plaintiff [} Defendant to provide and maintain health insurance for the child(ren) until further
order of the court.

1 Requiring Plaintiff and Defendant to share the cost of unreimbursed health expenses in accordance with the
Child Support Guidelines.

[] Other;

And for such other and further relief as may be reasonable, just, and proper.

Date: , 20

,3.C. Plaintiff's Signature
Plainfiff’s Name: Contact Number
Address:

DIRECTIONS TO PLAINTIFF: Defendant should be served with a copy of the Family Court Coversheet, this Complaint,
Summons and Financial Declaration.

DIRECTIONS TO PLAINTIFE AND DEFENDANT: A current Finaneial Declaration, on a form prescribed by the
Supreme Court, must be filed with the Clerk of Court and served upon the opposing party on or before the first hearing, or
o fater than 45 days afier the Complaint is served, whichever oceurs figst.

DIRECTIONS TO DEFENDANT: For information on how to respond to this Complaint, you may visii:
Liitp:/fwww.scoourts.org.

SCCA 400.21 SRL-CSM (8/2012)




STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

Plaintiff,
Vs,

Defendant.

IN THE FAMILY COURT OF THE
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

FINANCIAL DECLARATION

OF

Docket No.

HUSBAND/FATHER

WIFE/MOTHER

Address

Address

Age

Age

Occupation

Occupation |

Employer

Employer

Employer
Address

Employer
Address

Gross Monthly Income

Husband/Father

Wife/Mother

Principal Earnings from Employment

Overtime, Tips, Commission, Bonuses *

Pensions, Retirement, and Annuities income

Additional Empleyment income

Socia! Security Benefits (8SA) and VA Benefits

Disability and Worker’s Compensation Benefits

Unemployment and AFDC

Spousal or Child Support (from other marriage/relationship)

Dividends, Interest, Trust Income, and Capital Gains

Rental Income and Business Profits

Other (Specify):

TOTAL GROSS MONTHLY INCOME

Payroll Deduactions from Monthly Income

Husband/Father

Wife/Mother

Federal Income Tax °

State Income Tax

Social Security and Medicare Tax (FICA)

Self-Employment Tax

Health and Dental Insurance (Adulf)

Health and Dentat Insurance (Child)

Unzon Dues

Voluntary Retirement Contribution (401(k), 457, IRA)

Mandatory Retivement Contribution

Savings Plan

Other (Specify):

TOTAL MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS

NET MONTHLY INCOME *

SCCA 430 (12/2009)
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Estimate monthly expenses: (Specify which party is the custodial parent and list name and relationship of all members of household
whose expenses are included.

MONTHLY EXPENSES ° Husband/Father ‘Wife/Mother

Residential Rent Payment

Note or Mortgage Payment on Residence(s)

Food and Household Supplies ©

Utilities, Water, and Garbage Collection

Telephone and Celiular Phone

Medical, Dental and Disability Insurance Premfums (not
dedacted from paycheck)

Life Insurance Premiums (not deducted from paycheck)

Child Support (from other relationship)

Work Related Day Care

Spousal Support (from prior marriage)

Auto Payment

Auto Insurance, taxes, gasoline, and maintenance '

SUBTOTAL:

Real Property Tax on Residence(s)

Mzintenance for househoid ®

Adult Clothing

Children’s Clothing *

Cable Television, Satellite, and Internet/Oniine Services

Laundry znd Dry Cleaning *°

Medical and Dental Expenses {not paid by insurance)

Prescriptions, Glasses, and Contacts (not paid by insurance)

Children’s incidental expenses '

School hmches, supplies, field trips, and fees ™

Entertainment -

Adult Incidental expenses '

All Installment paymenis B

Other (Specify):
SUBTOTAL:
TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES
Installment L.oan Payments Section
Creditor For Monthly Payment Balance Owed by

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 2 of 5



Other Debts and Obligations nof payable in monthly installments

Creditor For Date Payable Balance Owed by *®

Are you currently in Bankruptey? || YES []NO
Are any obligations lisied above, including mortgage and note payments, in arrears? [ ] YES [ ] NO
If yes, please list the obligations in arrears.

All Marital Property Known to Parties

Assets Husband/Father Wife/Mother Joint

Cash and Mongy in Checking Account(s)

Money in Savings Account(s), Credit Union, Money Market,
or Cert. of Dep.

Value of Voluntary Retirement Account(s)

Value of Pension Account

Value of Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual
Funds

Value of Privately Held Stocks and Other Business

Value of Real Estate — Net of Mortgage Balances

Value of All Other Property’

TOTAL ASSETS

Any Non Marital Property Known to Parties

Description of Asset Title Owner Date of Source of Funds to Estimate Present market
Aecquisition Acquirer Value

If total assets are less than $300,000.00, sign and have notarized.

If total assets are greater than $300,000.00, itemize assets by completing additional sections below and
sign and have notarized.
Financial Accounts Section™

Owner Name of Institution Type of Account Balance

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 3 of5



Voluntary Retirement Accounts and Pension Accounts Section

Type of Account Value

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section (Non-Retirement)”

Name of Company Number of Shares/Type of Account Value
Real Estate Section™
Owner Address Value Mortgage Balance Mortgage Equity

Other Property Section”
Owner Description of Asset Value Loan Balance Equity
Signature
Swom to before me this day
of .20 y
(SEAL)

Notary Public for South Carolina
My commission expires:

Custodial Parent (if applicable):

SCCA. 430 (12/2009) 4 of 5




10.

11

12.
13.

14.

L5.

i6.

i7.

A recent paystub should be attached to the Financial Declaration. To compute Principal Eamnings from Employment, first
determine whether you are paid semi-monthly, biweekly, or weekly. If you are paid semi-monthly, multiply the gross
amount of your pay check by two. If you are paid biweekly, multiply the gross amount of your pay check by 26 and then

divide by 12, If you are paid weekly, multiply the amount of your paycheck by 52 and divide by twelve. Round to the
nearest whole dollar,

To compute Overtime, Tips, Commission, and/or Bonuses, take an average of your monthly eamings from overtime, tips,

commission, bonuses, ete. from the past three years or the length of employment if employed less than three years (including
this year).

To compute State, Local, and Social Security Tax deductions, use the same formula used to compute pringcipal earnings in
endnote 1 above, or consult or have your attorney consult an accountant.

Net monthly Income is equal to Total Gross Monthly Income minus Total Monthly Deductions.

Do not include any expense in the Monthly Expenses section that has already been included in the Deductions from Gross
Monthly Income on page cne of the Declaration.

Food Expense is to include the cost of groceries, toiletries, cleaning supplies, and casual eating out.
Auto Expenses are to inclnde gasoline, oil changes, tune-ups, tire replacement, maintenance, and related items.

Maintenance for Household is to include appliance and household repairs, landscaping, house cleaning, pest control, pool
service, alarm service, and other related items.

Clothing Expense is to include shoes and clothing purchases, clothing repair and alterations, and related items.
Laundry Expense is to include the cost of laundry service, dry cleaning, and related items.

Children’s Incidental Expenses are to include allowance, summer camp, baby sitters, lessons, activities, participatory sports,
and related items.

School Expense is to include tuition, supplies, field trips, dues, tutors, locker rentals, school lunches, and other related items.
Entertainment is to include movies, theater, vacations, sporting events, compact discs, digital video discs, and related items.

Aduit Incidental Expenses are to include cosmetics, hair and nail care, books, magazines, newspapers, business dues,
memberships, pets, charity, religious dues or tithes, gifts, bank charges, hobbies, and related items.

All Installment Loan Payments is the total amount itemized in Installment Loan Payments Section, which should include all
loan payments not already listed as a monthly expense. Examples: home equity loan, credit cards, etc.

Indicate which spouse legally owes the payment (husband, wife, or joint).

Other property is to include automobiles (minus loan balance), boats (minus loan balance), furniture, firnishings, china,
silver, jewelry, collectibles, and other personal property.

18. Itemize Finaneial Accounts such as checking, savings, credit union, money market, or certificate of deposit accounts in the

Financial Accounts Section.

19. Itemize Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Stock Options and Mutual Funds (excluding retirement accounts) in the

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section,

20. Hemize each parcel of Real Estate in the Real Estate Section,

SCCA 430 (12/2009) 50f 5



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA IN THE FAMILY COURT

JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF

CASE PARTY INFORMATION SHEET

Plaintiff,

V8.

Defendant. )  Docket No.

THE CASE PARTY INFORMATION SHEET IS NOT A MANDATORY FORM, BUT
USE OF THE FORM AIDS IN THE ENFORCEMENT OF COURT-ORDERED

SUPPORT OBLIGATIONS.
Name: Photo:
Gender: DOB:
Race: SSN:
Height: DL No.:
Weight
Eye Color: Distinguishing Characteristics;
Hair Color:
Physical Address:
Mailing Address (if different):
County and State: Home Phone Number: Mobile Number:
Closest Relatives Name(s), Relationship, and Address:
Other Identifying/Locate Information (Use Back If Necessary):
Vehicle Make, Model, Color, Tagh:

Specific directions to case party’s home (include road, street names, and landmarks). Designate case
party’s home as an apartment, house, duplex, or trailer and give description of it:

Description of Home: ; Directions to Address

TLast Known Employer:
Employer’s Complete Address:

Telephone No.:

Shift or Hours Worked:

Criminal Record: [ [Yes [[No Date of Arrest:

Place: Offense:

Place of Incarceration:

SCCA 453 (12/2009)



£37% SOUTH cAROLINA

%L JUDICIAL BRANCH

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA )
)
COUNTY OF )
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
)
Plaintiff, ) MOTION AND AFFIDAVIT TO
) PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS
Vs, )
)
)
Defendant. ) FILE NO.

Motion for Waiver of Costs and Fees

l, L - . @am unable to pay the costs of filing and service in the

present matter and request that the court waive the costs and aliow me fo pfoceed in

forma pauperis.

Plaintiff submits the following financial declaration and affidavit in support of the above
motion. :

Address : _
Age '
Occupation
Employer
Employer Address
Gross Monthly Income Amount:
1) Eamings (attach recent pay stubs) o
2) Overtime . x
3) Social Security, VA Benefits, S
Workers’ Comp or Disability (SS1) o
4) Unemployment .
5) Alimony / Child Support (receiving) : :
6) Other (Specify) . g i
Total Amount (Add /ines 1-6): o
Assets Amount:
1) Cash o

2) Money in Bank Accounts (Checking & Savings)

3) IRA/401k/ Pensions 3

4) Other (Specify) - =N
Total Amount (Add fines 1-4): SR

SCCA 405 (Revised 06/2024) Page 1 of 2



SOUTH CAROLINA

:.5J JUDICIAL BRANCH

Monthly Expenses Amount:
1) Rent/Mortgage L
2) Utilities
3) Cell phone / Phone
4) Food
5)  Child Support / Alimony (Paying)
6) Child Care

7)  Car Payment
8) Car Operating Expenses
(Insurance, gas, maintenance)
9) Clothing
10} Cable / Satellite TV / Internet
11) Medical / Dental / Vision Expenses
12) Medical / Dental / Vision Insurance
13) Credit Card / Loan Payments
14) Other (Specify) =
Total Amount (Add lines 1-14):

Swornto beforeme this -~ day

of 20 Signature of Plaintiff

Notary Pubilic for South Carolina
My Commission Expires:

SCCA 405 (Revised 06/2024) Page 2 of 2



5P SOUTH CAROLINA

= JUDICIAY BRANCH
STATE OF SOUTH GAROLINA

N e

COUNTYOF
i JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

ORDER
IN FORMA PAUPERIS

VSs.

FILE NO.

ORDER

D Leave is Denied to proceed in forma pauperis pursuant to Ex parte Martin, 321 S.C.
533,471 S.E.2d 134 (1995).

[] Leave is Denied to proceed in forma pauperis. Plaintiff has failed to establish
compliance with the Poverty Guidelines pursuant to Rule 3(b)(1), SCRCP.

fee and associated costs are not paid on or before -~
20 - .

If denied, this case will be dismissed without further order of the court if the filing

Dated: : = L , 20

- Judicial Circuit

Presiding Judge,

. South Carolina

NOTICE TO PLAINTIFF: The Court may assess costs against either party at hearing.

SCCA 405.1 (Revised 06/2024) Page 1 of 1



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
COUNTY OF ) _____JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
)
)
Plaintiff, ) ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE
) (Child Support Modification)
VS, )
)
)

Defendant. ) Docket No.

Pursuant to Rule 4(j), SCRCP, I certify that I received a copy of the following:

[ 1 Family Court Coversheet, Summons and Complaint and Financial Declaration
[] Other

in this actionon{ / / ) atthe following location:

Date: , 20

Defendant's Signature
,S.C.

Printed Name of Defendant

Home/Mailing Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone No.

SCCA 400.22 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
' ) _____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY COF )
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Child Support Modification)
VS, )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

Personally appeared the Plaintiff who states that (s)he served the Defendant with a copy
of the Family Court Coversheet, Certificate of Exemption, Summons, Complaint, and Financial
Declaration

by certified mail, restricted delivery, return receipt requested (receipt attached) in
the United States Mail, with proper postage attached

by commercial delivery service pursuant to Rule 4(d)(9), SCRCP with delivery
record attached;

on( / / )addressed as follows:

Sworn to before me this

day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Plaintiff

My Commission expires:

SCCA 400.23 SRL-CSM (5/2013)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT

: ) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )]
)
)

) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
Plaintiff, )
VS, )
)
)
Defendant. ) DocketNo.

Personally appeared before me, the affiant, who being duly sworn, states that ([_|he/
[ Jshe) served the in this action on (Party Served).

Service was completed in the following manner:
(check one)

[l Personally served on (Party served).

[l Served at their residence by leaving the documents with (Name of the person served)
the (Relationship of the person served) of the person served, a person of age and discretion.
Service was completed at this address: at their residence by leaving the documents with

(Name of the person served) the (Relationship of the person served) of the person served,
a person of dge and discretion.

] (Name of the person served) the (Relationship of the person served) of
(Corporation name). Service was competed at this address: on (date) at

(L JAM./ [ JP.M.) (time).

L] Unable to locate and serve after diligent efforts to do so. The process is returned
unexecuted. The following service attempts were made:

Affiant is not a party to this action, is not less than eighteen (18) vears of age and has no

interest in or connection to this action.

Custodial parent (if applicable):

Swormn to before me this
day of ', 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Affiant Signature

My Commission expires:

SCCA 402F (12/2009)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
' ) ___JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
)
) REQUEST FOR HEARING
Plaintiff, ) (Child Support Modification)
Vs, )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.
Plaintiff or Attorney for Plaintiff:
Address:
Home Phone: Cell Phone:
Other Contact Phone: Email:
Defendant or Attorney for Defendant:
Address:
Home Phone: Cell Phone:
Other Contact Phone: Email:

Contested: [ ] Yes [_JNo  Child Custedy Issue: [ ] Yes [ INo
Ampunt of Time Requested: 30 minutes

Dates / Times the Plaintiff and/or Defendant is/are UNAVAILABLE (exclude weekends and holidays): See
Attached list(s)

Hearing Requested By: [J PLAINTIFF [ ] DEFENDANT
COMMENTS / ISSUES:
Date: , 20
, S8.C. Signature

****Section below to be completed by Clerk of Court. ****
The Final Hearing in this matter is scheduled for day of 20 , at

i [Jam./[Ip.m., Courtroom , before the Honorable

SCCA. 400.26 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) _____ JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Notice of Hearing)
vs. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

Personally appeared the Plaintiff who states that (s)he served the Defendant with a copy
of the Notice of Hearing by certified mail, restricted delivery, return receipt requested (receipt
attached) in the United States Mail, with proper postage attached, on( / / ) addressed

as follows:

Sworn to before me this

day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Plaintiff

My Commission expires:

SCCA 400.27 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



Script for Plaintiff’s Testimony

Child Support Decrease

Before you present your case, you will be sworn in. If the Judge indicates you should come
forward, you should take a seat in the witness chair. The witness chair is usually beside the
Judge. If the Judge allows you to stay at the table in front of the Fudge, you should stand.

In accordance with the SC Rules of Civil Procedure, if you have any papers that you want the
Judge to see, bring three copies to the hearing. Hand the original and a copy to the Deputy
Sheriff who will give the original to the Judge and a copy to the Defendant. Be sure to keep
another copy for yourself in case the Judge or the Defendant asks you questions about it.

After you are sworn m, you should ask

-]

“Your Honor, may I begin?”

My name is

My address is:

mn County, (State)
The Defendant lives in County, (State)

This court has jurisdiction over this case because of the prior child support order.

I am responsible for child support for: (name of child/children in this
case)

T am under a court order to pay (amount of child support)
per (week, month, every two weeks, twice a month).
My income per month is: . Imake
per hour and T work hours each week.
I have other income from . That income is
per month.
I pay health insurance of per for the child(ren).

I have filed a Financial Declaration with the Court that I ask the Court to review.

My circumstances have substantially changed. Ineed to decrease the child support
because

Your Honor, that is all of my testimony. Iwill be happy to answer any questions that you
or the Defendant may have.

Listen carefully to any questions that you are asked and answer truthfully.

SCCA 400.28 SRL-CSM (8/2012)



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) ORDER
Plaintiff, ) (Decrease Child Support)
Va. )
)
Defendant. )  Docket No.
Plaintiff's Attorney: Hearing Date:
Defendant's Attorney: Judge:
Guardian ad Litem: Court Reporter:

At the hearing, the Court determined it has jurisdiction over the subject matter and the parties in this action.

The Court considered facts and circumstances that may include both parties' incomes, abilities to pay, education,

expenses and assets, needs of the children, and standard of living. Based upon the evidence, the Court makes the
following findings of fact:

Plaintiff pays child support to the Defendant for the minor child(ren) whose names and dates of birth are:

Child's Full Name Date of Birth Child's Fall Name Date of Birth
1. 4.
2. 5.
3. 6.

A significant change in circumstances [ |has [_| has not occurred, the current ongoing child support

obligation [_] is [ ] is not reasonable, and the child support obligation [_] should be [] should not be reduced.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED:

1 The request for child support decrease is DENIED. The existing Order remains in effect.

1 The request for child support decrease is GRANTED. Plaintiff owes a child support amearage of
$ . The new child support payments are § . plus § towards the
arrearage, plus 5% court costs, for a total payment of § per beginning

. The Child Support Guidelines Worksheet is attached.

] shall provide and maintain health insurance for the child(ren).

(1 Insurance is not reasonably available,

M shall pay % of all unreimbursed health expenses in excess of $250

per year per child. The custodian shall assume the costs of the unreimbursed medical expenses up to $250
per year per child.

Each child support payment shall be paid through the Clerk of Court and shall be paid until further order of the court.

This case shall be combined with the prior order dated with the docket number
] Other:
Date: , 20

,8.C. Family Court Judge

SCCA 400.29 SRL-CSM (8/2012)




STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
)] ___JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF }
)
) SUPPORT INFORMATION SHERT
Plaintiff, )
V. )
)
)
Defendant. )  Docket No.
Check appropriate box:

[1 No spousal or child support ordered. (No other itemns should be completed.)
[ If support is ordered to be paid directly or through the Court, yon must complete BOTH

pages (as applicable).
Obligation Type Child Spousal Other
Support Support

Amount 3 $ $
Collection Costs (5%) $ $ 5
Payment Frequency
Payment Start Date o _ , 20
Weekly [ [] [
Bi-weekly [] L] l
Monthly L] L] L]
Semi-monthly (1st & 16th) L] ] [l
Semi-monthly (15th & 30th) L] ] [
Total Arrearage Amount $ $ §

Wage Withholding i

Required by S.C. Code Ann. §63-17-1420 ] [ Ll
Ordered (] f1 [}
Not Ordered ] ] ]

* Name of Custodial Parent (if applicable):

AR OBLIGOR’S DESIGNATION STATEMENT: PAYMENT OF COURT COSTS##%k%

lacknowledge that 8.C. Code Ann. § 63-3-370 requires that I pay and the Family Court has ordered that I pay
court costs in an amount equal to five (5) percent of any support payment made through the Clerk of Court or centralized
wage withholding system. Iowe and will pay these costs in addifion to my support obligation.

To meet my duty to pay court costs, I designate an amount equal to five (S) percent of the support payment I
make to be applied and distributed in payment of court costs, not support.

1 acknowledge the 5% court cost fee will be deducted from every payment made by me or on my behalf.

T acknowledge that should I not pay the full amount due, that an arrearage will acerue and that the Clerk of Court
may take enforcement action against me for failure to pay all amounts ordered by the Court.

If an amendment to the law changes the amount of court costs, this designation authorizes deduction of court
collection costs in the amount established by law. ’

Date: , 20

Sigonature of Person paying Support**

**NOTE TO CLERK: FILE AND PROCESS THIS FORM EVEN IF SIGNATURE OF PERSON PAYING
SUPPORT IS NOT PROVIDED. **

SCCA 446 (10/2018)



IDENTIFYING INFORMATION ON THIS PAGE

A. OBLIGEE/PAID TO:
Name:
Address:
City: State: Zip:
Email Address: Phone:

SSN: Gender: Race: Height: Weight:
Date of Birth: Scars:

Driver’s License Number: Driver’s License Issuing State:

Employet:

Employer Address:

B. OBLIGOR/PAID BY:
Name:
Address:

City: State: Zip:
Email Address: Phone:

SSN: Gender: Race: Height; Weight:
Date of Birth: Scars:

Driver’s License Number: Driver’s License Issuing State:

Employer:

Employer Address:

C. CHILDREN

CHILDREN’S NAMES DATE OF BIRTH SSN

g | e

PREPARED BY TITLE DATE

SCCA 446 (10/2018)



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
SELF-REPRESENTED LITIGANT CHILD SUPPORT
DECREASE PACKET

DEFENDANT

The Plaintiff is the person who is trying to decrease the child support. The Plaintiff is the person
who wants things to change and who has filed this case. The Defendant is the person who is
being sued. The instrnctions in this packet are for the Defendant.

WARNING: You are strongly encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney before filing
any legal matter. This packet is designed to provide information and forms to people who are
representing themselves in court. If you proceed without an attorney, it may negatively affect
your legal rights. If you are unsure whether to proceed, or have questions about these forms or

your legal rights, consult an attorney. Please note that clerks of court, court staff, and judges
cannot give you legal advice.

DISCLAIMER: The information in this packet is not legal advice and cannot replace the
advice of competent legal counsel licensed in your state. Child support laws vary from state to
state and the information contained in this packet is specific to South Carolina. Please note that
the information contained in this packet is subject to change and make sure that you have the
most current version of this packet before filing.

PART 1: YOUR ROLE AS A DEFENDANT

The following instructions will help you file an Answer for a child support reduction in South
Carolina pro se, or without an attomey. Pro se is a Latin term meaning “in person” or “on one’s
own behalf.” As the courts see more people representing themselves in court, you may also hear
the term self-represented litigant instead of pro se. While the self-represented litigant may not
incur the attorney expense, the self-represented litigant does not have the expert guidance that an

attorney can provide.

If you do not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South Carolina Bar’s
Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a Family Law attorney in your county.
Members of the South Carolina Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service have been in practice for more
than 3 years, are in good standing, have provided proof of malpractice insurance, and have

agreed to provide a 30 minute consultation for no more than $50. If you believe you qualify for
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South Carolina Legal Services, you may contact their Legal Aid Telephone Intake Service at 1-

888-346-5592. Please note that to qualify for SCLS, your income must not be more than 125%
of the Federal Poverty Guidelines.

The noncustodial party who is the Plaintiff in this case has filed for a reduction in child support
payments. You will be served these documents in one of three ways:
¢ By Certified U.S. Mail, Return Receipt Requested, Restricted Delivery; or
e By receiving the Summons and Complaint from the noncustodial party and voluntarily
signing an Acceptance of Service; or

e Byalaw enforcement officer or private process server.

Is your case handled by the South Carolina Department of Social Services, Child Support
Enforcement Division?

If your child support order is handled by DSS, you should immediately contact the office
handling your case and give thém a copy of the paperwork that was served on you. If you don’t
know which office handles your case, you can go to the DSS Child Support website and see
which counties are handled by which office. Their website address is

hitp://www state.sc.us/dss/ csed/contact.htm#regién.

i, _ If your case is 2 “private” case that is not handled by DSS, you must file an

Answer within 30 days after you receive a Summons and Complaint.

You may want to talk to an aftorney about your options. If you do

{ caunion

2

not know an attorney who can assist you, you may call the South

Carolina Bar’s Lawyer Referral Service at 1-800-868-2284 and ask for a

Family Law attorney in your county.

PART 2: COMPLETING YOUR PAPERWORK

The next step is to study all of the forms listed below. The name of each form can be found in

the upper right hand corner and the form number in the bottom left hand corner.
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The following forms are included in this packet:

1. Defendant’s Answer (SCCA 400.24 SRL-CSM)
2. Financial Declaration Form (SCCA 430)

3. Affidavit of Service by Mailing (Answer) (SCCA. 400.25 SRL-CSM)

Read all the documents carefully. If you are willing to aceept service, complete the Acceptance
of Service form and return it to the Plaintiff. Next, read the Complaint carefully and complete
the Answer to the best of your abilities. At the end of the Answer there is a space where you can
ask the Court for additional relief. You may leave this blank. If you want to ask for an increase
instead of a decrease, you can use these lines to ask this. You will have to prove that there
should be an increase and not a decrease. Before you ask for an increase, you should check the
child support guidelines. Child support is calculated by using the South Carolina Child Support
Guidelines. Go to the South Carolina Department of Social Services website and complete the
child support calculator. The DSS website is hitp://www.state.sc us/dss/csed/calenlator. him.

The results of the child support calculator do not guarantee that a Family Court

Judge will increase your child support amount.

If you get a lower support amount when using the calculator, you may decide not to file for an

inerease in your support amount.

A .. The judge may decrease the child support amount if the results of the child

support calculator show that there should be a decrease instead of an increase.

Please pay special attention to the Financial Declaration Form. This form asks questions about
the finances of both you and the Plaintiff. Fill out the sections of the form that apply to you.
You must take the Financial Declaration Form to a notary public before you sign it. After the

Answer and Financial Declaration Form are completed, make two copies of each form.
File the Answer and Financial Declaration Form with the same Clerk of Court’s office where the

Complaint was filed. Take the original and the copies to that Clerk of Court’s office. Ask the
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Clerk to stamp both the originals and copies of the forms. The Clerk will keep the original forms

and will return two stamped copies of each form to you. Keep one copy for your file.

Mail a stamped copy of both the Answer and Financial Declaration Form along with a copy of
the Affidavit of Mailing (Answer) to the Plaintiff or to the Plaintiff’s attorney by first class mail.
After you have mailed the Answer and Financial Declaration Form, file the original Affidavit of
Mailing with the Cletk of Court and keep one copy for your files.

PART 3: THE HEARING

The Plaintiff or the Plaintiff’s attorney will mail you a Notice of Hearing, which will give you the
date and time of your hearing. On the day of your hearing, you should arive at the courthouse at
least thirty (30) minutes bﬁor to your scheduled time and bring a copy of your paperwork. Dress
appropriately and turn off your cell phone. Appropriate dress includes suits, jackets, dresses,
or dress slacks. Males should tuck their shirts into their pants. Casual clothing such as sweat
clothes, tank tops, shorts, and similar summer beach wear is not appropriate for the courtroom.
Remove hats when entering the courtroom, unless they are required for a medical condition.

Most courts do not allow children into the courtroom so make arrangements for a responsible

adult to watch your children while you are in court.

The Plaintiff will present his/her case first. You will have the opportunity to ask the Plaintiff and
any witnesses questions. After the Plaintiff and witnesses have testified, you will be given an
opportunity to testify and present witnesses for your case. If you completed the Counterclaim
section of the Answer and asked for something else, you must prove that your request should be
granted. The judge may interrupt you from time to time to ask you a question. Listen carefully,
and answer the questions the judge asks you. If you have any papers that you want the Judge to
see, hand the original and a copy to the Deputy Sheriff who will give the original to the Judge
and a copy to the Plaintiff. After the hearing, the judge will sign the order. The Clerk of Court

will provide you and the Defendant or the Defendant’s attorney with a copy of the order.
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Defendant Child Support Reduction Checklist

- Once you are servec with a Summons and Complaint for Child Support Reduction, complete the

Answer. Also, complete the section of the Financial Declaration Form that applies to you and have
the form notarized.

- File the completed Answer and Financial Declaration Form with the Clerk of Court’s office within
30 days after service.

-~ Mail a stamped copy of the Answer and Financial Declaration Form along with the Affidavit of
Mailing (Answer) to Plaintiff or Plaintiffs attorney within 30 days after service.

- The Plaintiff or Plaintiff’s attorney will then mail you a Notice of Hearing, which will give you the
date and time of your hearing.

- Aurive on the day of your hearing at least 30 minutes early and be sure to dress appropriately, turn
off your cell phone, remove your hat, and make sure you have appropriate childcare.

- Atthe hearing the Plaintiff will testify first. The judge will give you the opportunity to ask the
Plaintiff gquestions and to present your case.

- Atthe end of the hearing the judge should sign the order and you will receive a copy.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF

Plaintiff,

3

Vs,

Defendant.

IN THE FAMILY COURT OF THE
JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

FINANCIAL DECLARATION

OF

Docket No.

HUSBAND/FATHER

WIFE/MOTHER

Address

Address

Age

Age

Occupation

Ocgupation

Employer

Employer

Employer
Address

Employer
Address

Gross Monthly Income

Husbhand/Father

Wife/Mother

Principal Eamnings from Employment *

Overtime, Tips, Commission, Bonuses -

Pensions, Retirement, and Annuities income

Additional Employment income

Social Security Benefits (SSA) and VA Benefits

Disability and Worker’s Compensation Benefits

Unemployment and AFDC

Spousal or Child Support {(from other marriage/relationship)

Dividends, Interest, Trust Income, and Capital Gains

Rental Income and Business Profits

Other (Specify):

TOTAL GROSS MONTHLY INCOME

Payroll Deductions from Monthly Income

Husband/Father

Wife/Mother

Federal Income Tax °

State Income Tax

Social Security and Medicare Tax (FICA)

Self-Employment Tax

Health and Dental Insurance (Adult)

Health and Dental Insurance (Child)

Urion Dues

Voluntary Retirement Contribution (401(k), 457, TRA)

Mandatory Retirement Contribution

Savings Plan

Other (Specify):

TOTAL MONTHLY DEDUCTIONS

NET MONTHLY INCOME *

SCCA 430 (12/2009)
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Bstimate monthly expenses: (Specify which party is the custodial parent and list name and relationship of all members of household
whose expenses are included.

MONTHLY EXPENSES ° Husband/Father Wife/Mother

Residential Rent Payment

Note or Mortgage Payment on Residence(s)

Food and Household Supplies ®

Utilities, Water, and Garbage Coliection

Telephene and Cellular Phone

Medical, Dental and Disability Insurance Premiums (not

deducted from paycheck)

Life Insurance Premiums (not deducted from paycheck)

Child Support {from other relationship)

Work Related Day Care

Spousal Support (from prior marriage)

Auto Payment

Auto Insurance, taxes, gasoline, and maintenance ’

SUBTOTAL:

Real Property Tax on Residence(s)

Maintenance for household ®

Adult Clothing

Children’s Clothing ®

Cable Television, Satellite, and Internet/Online Services

Laundry and Dry Cleaning ©

Medical and Dental Expenses (not paid by insurance)

Prescriptions, Glasses, and Contacts (not paid by ingurance)

Children’s incidental expenses '

School lunches, supplies, field trips, and fees

Entertainment °

Adult Incidental expenses ™*

All Fnstallment payments =

Other (Specify):
SUBTOTAL:
TOTAL MONTHLY EXPENSES
Installment Loan Payments Section
Crediter For Monthly Payment Balance Owed by I*
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Other Debts and Obligations not payable in monthly instaliments

Creditor For Date Payable Balance Owed by 1®

Are you currently in Barkruptey? [ YES [ NO
Are any obligations listed above, including mortgage and note payments, in arrears? [_| YES [ |NO

If yes, please list the obligations in arrears.

All Marital Property Known to Parties

Assets Hushand/Father Wife/Mother Joint

Cash and Money in Checking Account(s)

Money in Savings Account(s), Credit Union, Money Market,
or Cert. of Dep.

Value of Voluntary Retirement Account(s)

Value of Pension Account

Value of Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual
Funds

Valus of Privately Held Stocks and Other Business

Value of Real Estate — Net of Mortgage Balances

Vzlue of AL Other Property’”
TOTAL ASSETS
Any Non Marital Property Known to Parties
Deseription of Asset Title Owner Date of Source of Funds to Estimate Present market

Acquisition Acquirer ' Value

If total assets are less than $300,000.00, sign and have notarized.

If total assets are greater than $300,000.00, itemize assets by completing additional sections below and
sign and have notarized.

Finanecial Accounts Section’®

Owner Name of Institution Type of Account Balance
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Voluntary Retirement Accounts and Pension Accounts Section

Type of Acconnt

Value

Publicty Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mutual Funds Section (Non-Retirement)”

Name of Company Number of Shares/Type of Account Value
Real Estate Section™
Owner Address Value " Mortgage Balance Mortgage Equity
Other Property Section®”
Owner Description of Asset Value Loan Balance Equity
Signature
Sworn to before me this day
of , 20

Notary Public for South Carolina
My commission expires:

Custodial Parent (if applicable):

(SEAL)

SCCA 430 (12/2009)
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10.

il

12.
13.

14.

15.

16.

17,

A rvecent paystub should be attached {o the Financial Declaration. To compute Principal Earnings from Employment, first
determine whether you are paid semi-monthly, biweekly, or weekly. If you are paid semi-monthly, multiply the gross
amount of your pay check by two. If you are paid biweekly, multiply the gross amount of your pay check by 26 and then

divide by 12. If you are paid weekly, multiply the amount of your paycheck by 52 and divide by twelve. Round to the
nearest whole dollar.

To compute Overtime, Tips, Commission, and/or Bonuses, take an average of your monthly earnings from overtime, tips,

commission, bonuses, etc. from the past three years or the length of employment if employed less than three yearts (including
this year).

To compute Stats, Local, and Social Security Tax deductions, use the same formula used to compute principal earnings in
endnote 1 above, or consult or have your attorney consult an accountant.

Net monthly Income is equal to Total Gross Monthly Income minus Total Monthly Deductions,

Do not include any expense in the Monthly Expenses section that has already been included in the Deductions from Gross
Monthly Income on page one of the Declaration.

Food Expense is to include the cost of groceries, toiletries, cleaning supplies, and cagual eating out.
Auto Expenses are to include gasoline, oil changes, tune-ups, tire replacement, maintenance, and related items.

Maintenance for Household is to include appliance and household repairs, landscaping, house cleaning, pest control, pool
service, alarm service, and other related items.

Clothing Expense is to include shoes and clothing purchases, clothing repair and alterations, and related items.
Laundry Expense is to include the cost of laundry service, dry cleaning, and related items.

Children’s Incidental Expenses are to include allowance, summer camp, baby sitters, lessons, activities, participatory sports,
and related items.

School Expense is to include tuition, supplies, field trips, dues, futors, iocker rentals, school lunches, and other related items.
Entertainment is to include movies, theater, vacations, sporting events, compact discs, digital video discs, and related items.

Adult Incidental Expenses are to include cosmetics, hair and nail care, books, magazines, newspapers, business dues,
mernberships, pets, charity, religious dues or tithes, gifts, bank charges, hobbies, and related items.

All Tnstallment Loan Payments is the total amount itemized in Installment Loan Payments Section, which should include all
loan payments not already listed as a monthly expense. Examples: home equity loan, credit cards, eto.

Indicate which spouse legally owes the payment (husband, wife, or joint).

Other property is to include automobiles (minus loan balance), boats (minus loan balanee), furnitire, farnishings, china,
silver, jewelry, collectibles, and other personai property.

18. Tiemize Financial Accounts such as checking, savings, credit tmion, money market, or certificate of deposit accounts in the

Financial Accounts Section,

19. Hiemize Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Stock Options and Mutual Funds (excluding retirement accounts) in the

Publicly Held Stocks, Bonds, Securities, Mirual Funds Section.

20. Hernize each parcel of Real Estate in the Real Estate Section.
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[} admits paragraph 4 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 4.
5. As to paragraph 5 in the Complaint, Defendant
[ ] admits each and every statement

[ ] denies each and every statement
(] admits paragraph 5 except for the following:

Defendant denies the remaining statements in paragraph 5.

*#* ¥ THE COMPLAINT CONTAINS MORE THAN 5 PARAGRAPHS, YOU

MAY ADD ADDITIONAL PARAGRAPHS TO THIS FORM OR LIST THEM ON A
SEPARATE PAGE.***

BY WAY OF COUNTERCLAIM

1. Defendant incorporates into this Answer each defense, statement, and admission that is
set forth above.

2. The child support should be increased because the Defendant has had a substantial

change of circumstances as follows:

3. In addition to the above statements, Defendant would ask the Court for the following:

Defendant’s Signature

Printed Name of Defendant

Street Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone No.

Page 2 of 2
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROQLINA ) IN THE FAMILY COURT
) . JUDICIAL CIRCUIT
COUNTY OF )
)
) AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE
) BY MAILING
Plaintiff, ) (Answer)
V8. )
)
)
Defendant. ) Docket No.

Personally appeared the Defendant who states that (s)he served the Plaintiff with a copy
of the Answer by first class mail in the United States Mail, with proper postage attached, on

addressed ag follows:

Sworn to before me this

day of , 20

Notary Public of South Carolina Defendant

My Commission expires:
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